Appeal to Sci-Fi / Fantasy Nerds

July 13, 2012 § 5 Comments

This post might be slightly emo.  I need to get this off my chest.

I am a huge sci-fi and fantasy nerd.  If there is anything that’s painful to witness its something you love done poorly.  If there’s anything worse than that, it’s seeing something you love done poorly then massively rewarded for it.

So I don’t much like movies these days.

Thanks to having no extra monies and having Netflix’s view now, I have watched a few recent movies in the sci-fi / fantasy genre here lately.  I expected to be bored and annoyed and generally unimpressed.  I expected to have my eyeballs bombarded by a caustic, over-busy, aesthetically generic barrage of computer animation.  To have myths and stories I loved chopped up like cheap pepperoni and spattered across a mainstream romantic-myth-plus-bloodbath-equals-win movie (the parasitic virus that has pervaded all genres, sucking their life at an alarming rate).

But I have to confess – I did not think these movies would be so sexist.  Or generally terrible on a simple, thematic level.

Take Thor for instance.  If I had to summarize this movie in thematic form it would be:  Hyper-masculine privileged men and less-masculine privileged men both irresponsibly vie for power and cause remarkable harm.  But only the hyper-masculine win.

Honestly, it freaked me out.  FREAKED – me out.

I had been disappointed by Snow White and the Huntsmen.  And I had been literally astounded by the sheer awfulness – I will not attempt to even remotely pull punches even though I love you Orlando Bloom– of The Three Musketeers, which I honestly think might have been the worst movie I have ever seen.

But this film more than any of those really believed I would invest in the “journey” (pause to choke and hack and recover myself and beg the spirit of Tolkien to forgive my linguistic treachery) of a male character simply because he was macho, killed people, and had a generic, vague transformation to switching sides and fighting his brother for attempting the very same genocide of the film’s non-people-so-don’t worry! race, the Ice Giants, that he himself mindless attempted, and liking a pretty –and smart!  This is 21st century sexism here, please! – woman.

I think Hollywood underestimate us.  I think we want more.  But it seems they make enough money off names, pretty people, and computer graphics to make our sci-fi / fantasy films into little more than a 4th of July fireworks celebration in spirit – vague, sentimental, hypocritical, celebrating things that ought NOT to be celebrated, and a show that dazzles one tiny, animal part of our brains.

To anyone out there who has EVER wanted to write a fantasy or sci-fi story, please, please, please try.  Try for me and for your future self who will need a story.  Please!

We have to write the stories we want, the stories we ought to have.  The harder it is for you to overcome your inhibition, get your timid, frail little artist soul to peep out a story THE BETTER THAT STORY WILL BE.  I promise!  Obviously, the brash egotists are deafening us all with their pseudo-stories, or patriarchal favors as I like to call them.

So please, try.  Wage a just war of non-violent, brave protest against the violent voices in your mind and soul that try to tell you that you’re nothing and should not create anything and the world is too unsafe, hide away in safe places alone or with friends, and tell a story!

I NEED them.  And I think a lot of people do.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Appeal to Sci-Fi / Fantasy Nerds

  • Rairun says:

    I appreciate Sci-Fi and Fantasy, but I’m not very knowledgeable about them. I do have a couple of ideas for stories with fantasy elements, but I don’t think I’ll get to them any time soon (I’ve been struggling with other types of material on and off). I know what you mean, though. This doesn’t happen just with Sci-Fi/Fantasy. It’s a widespread problem.

    Anyway, I kind of wondered, did you watch The Legend of Korra? If not, ***SPOILERS**** ahead. I’ve heard people say the “love triangle” was clichéd, but I think it’s kind of unfair to call it that. I particularly enjoyed the dynamics between Tenzin/his wife/Lin and Korra/Mako/Bolin-and-later-Asami. Sure, in my dream world, people would just love and be loved in a big lovefest. But even though I know there will be no non-monogamous relationships in the show, I thought it was a breath of fresh air how the characters were generally thoughtful and considerate. Tenzin still cared about Lin. Asami got jealous sometimes, but she didn’t start hating Korra, nor did she demand Mako to stop being her friend. I’d really love if they explored this further in the second season. Now, presumably, Korra gets to be with Mako, but I hope Asami isn’t just pushed out of the picture. It’d be nice to see Asami still having tender moments with Mako, and also developing a closer friendship with Korra.

  • elizabethalex says:

    Excellent appeal! I feel inspired!

  • Well said. This is exactly what they’ve done to the Star Trek franchise: turned it into a flashy (if well-made) money-maker, choosing to ignore the fact that the original series was a thoughtful platform for exploring and condemning social injustice and advocating for positive change.

    I love that you turned this into a plea for more good writing.

  • I never watched it, but it sounds interesting. I can’t really think of any films that explore any kind of consensual non-monogamy, or otherwise show that people can do anything but be emotionally destroyed and violent over break ups, much less having their partner get involved with someone else. It’d be nice to see some of that in decent story telling.

  • I too am a sci-fi / fantacy so called nerd, (or in my case it is my passion). I agree, so please check out my blog and let me know if I got it right?
    http://guardianofthestone.com/

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Appeal to Sci-Fi / Fantasy Nerds at There Is No Fear In Love.

meta

